Minimum wage is generally the lowest wage employers are allowed to pay their employees, which varies under federal employment laws and state employment laws. If an employee is covered by both federal and state minumum wage law, he or she is entitled to the higher minimum wage.
Federal Minimum Wage
Effective July 24, 2009, federal law requires employers to pay their employees a minimum hourly wage of at least $7.25. Learn more about Federal Minimum Wage.
State Minimum Wage
Many states have their own minimum wage, which may be higher than the federal minimum wage. The California minimum wage is currently $10.00 an hour for employers with 25 employees or less, and $10.50 an hour for employers with more than 25 employees.
. Learn more about California Minimum Wage Law.
Minimum wage law violations
Unfortunately, not all employers comply with minimum wage requirements. Examples of minimum wage violations include:
- Paying an employee less than the minimum wage
- Forcing employees to work for tips or commission alone
- Deducting expenses such as the cost of equipment, uniforms, spills, breakage, or cash register shortages from an employee’s paycheck so that their wages are less than the minimum wage
Industries where minimum wage violations commonly occur include: restaurants, healthcare, agriculture, day care, hotels, and garment manufacturing.
Are you being paid less than minimum wage?
Think your employer violated minimum wage laws? Free and confidential consultations are available with our employment attorneys by calling (866) 981-4800 or by filling out the form to the right.